Pucon, Chile

I only had a general direction of where I was headed after getting back to Santiago- South to Patagonia and eventually El Calafate for the glacier. But I had no idea which city and how I was going to get there. My Navimag ferry ticket was bought this time so I had an idea of when I should be in Puerto Montt for the ferry to Puerto Natales. The task for now is just to find a city with cheap hostel midway to the South to kill a few days. So I looked up hostelworld and found that Pucon has a hostel that fits my budget. I had booked the night bus with Tur-Bus leaving around 11pm but the daylight savings time change made me miss that bus. I bought another ticket for the last departure and arrived in Pucon about 8am in the morning. The views along the lake before arrival were very scenic and different from Santiago. As soon as I got off the bus, the cold in the region made me open my luggage to get my warmest jacket. After checking in, I decided to use the superfast internet to call LAN Chile to track the status of my luggage claim as my luggage was damaged during the flight to Easter Island. No conclusion was drawn after two hours of effort dealing with the LAN Chile staffs who don’t really speak English. The boss from the hostel kept coming trying to talk to me to introduce me the tours they offer. I have to say that none of the tours appealed me and I really hate it whenever a hostel staff or owner pushes me to do a tour with them. I used my usual excuse that I needed more time to think to excuse myself from the situation. The rest of the day was spent wandering around town and waiting for the BBQ dinner. On the second day, I somehow still went with the cheaper tour to the thermal spring. As expected, the tour was mediocre and only in Spanish. And I found out that my ferry schedule has been cancelled due to the foul weather in the south. I spent the rest of the night on the internet looking for an alternative to go south as well as which city to go next. I found an affordable flight to Punta Arenas from Puerto Montt on Sky Airlines but it only takes Chilean credit card. I had to go to the nearest big city with the airlines’ sales office to get this flight booked: Valdivia.

Pucon lake

Best Picture I Took In Pucon

Walking Around In Downtown Pucon

The Thermal Spring

This entry was posted in Chile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

